Awards at IOPS Conferences

IOPS Best Paper Award

Every year at the Summer Conference, IOPS rewards the Best Paper Award for a single research article written by a PhD student of IOPS, that is published or accepted for publication in the previous year. Papers in peer-reviewed journals are given more weight than chapters in books. The winner will receive an amount of € 600, sponsored by IOPS.
The winner will also be invited to give a presentation at a future IOPS conference. The winners of the last years are:

  • Jeffrey Durieux (LU): Durieux, J., Rombouts, S. A., de Vos, F., Koini, M., & Wilderjans, T. F. (2022). Clusterwise Independent Component Analysis (C-ICA): Using fMRI resting state networks to cluster subjects and find neurofunctional subtypes. Journal of Neuroscience Methods, 382, 109718.
  • Debby ten Hove ten Hove (UvA): D., Jorgensen, T. D., & van der Ark, L. A. (2021, April 5). Interrater Reliability for Multilevel Data: A Generalizability Theory Approach. Psychological Methods. Advance online publication.
  • Tim Loossens (KUL): Loossens, T., Mestdagh, M., Dejonckheere, E., Kuppens, P., Tuerlinckx F, & Verdonck, S. (2020) The Affective Ising Model: A computational account of human affect dynamics. PLOS Computational Biology 16(5), e1007860.
  • Jonas Haslbeck (UvA): Jonas M.B. Haslbeck, Denny Borsboom & Lourens J. Waldorp (2019): Moderated Network Models, Multivariate Behavioral Research, DOI: 10.1080/00273171.2019.16770207
  • Robbie van Aert (TiU): van Aert, R. C., & van Assen, M. A. (2018). Examining reproducibility in psychology: A hybrid method for combining a statistically significant original study and a replication. Behavior research methods, 50(4), 1515-1539.
  • Jedelyn Cabrieto (KU Leuven): Cabrieto, J., Tuerlinckx, F., Kuppens, P., Hunyadi, B. & Ceulemans, E. (2018). Testing for the presence of correlation changes in a multivariate time series: A permutation based approach. Scientific Reports, 8, 769. 1-20. doi: 10.1038/s41598-017-19067-2
  • Sacha Epskamp (UvA): Epskamp, S., Rhemtulla, M., & Borsboom, D. (in press). Generalized network psychometrics. Psychometrika.
  • Merijn Mestdagh (KU Leuven): Mestdagh, M., Verdonck, S., Duisters, K., & Tuerlinckx, F. (2015). Fingerprint resampling: A generic method for efficient resampling, Scientific Reports, 5, 16970, 1-21.
  • Xin Gu (UU): Gu, X. & Deković, M. (2014). Bayesian Evaluation of Inequality Constrained Hypothesis. Psychological Methods, 19 (4), 511-527.
  • Annelies Bartlema (KU Leuven): Bartlema, A., Lee, M., Wetzels, R. & Vanpaemel, W. (2013). A Bayesian hierarchical mixture approach to individual differences: Case studies in selective attention and representation in category learning. Journal of Mathematical Psychology.
  • Angélique Cramer (UvA): Cramer, A.O.J., Van der Sluis, S., Noordhof, A., Wicherts, M., Geschwind, N., Aggen, S.H., Kendler, K.S. & Borsboom, D.  (2012). Dimensions of normal personality as networks in search of equilibrium: You can’t like parties if you don’t like people. European Journal of Personality, 26, 414-431.
  • Rogier Kievit (UvA): Kievit, R.A., Romeijn, J.W., Waldorp, L.J., Wicherts, J.M., Scholte, H.S., & Borsboom, D. (2011). Mind the gap: A psychometric approach to the reduction problem. Psychological Inquiry, 22, 1-21.

IOPS Best Poster Award

To underline the importance of the poster presentations at the IOPS conferences, each conference, the Best Poster Award is rewarded. All participants of the conference can vote. The winners so far are:

  • Kevin Kloos (summer 2023): Continuous Sweep: a new parametric quantifier
  • Jill de Ron (winter 2022): Quantifying and addressing the impact of measurement error in network models
  • Chiara Carlier (summer 2022): Momentary profile similarity measures for multivariate dyadic time series.
  • Jeroen Mulder (winter 2021): The random intercept cross-lagged panel model: Where to now?
  • Mihai Constantin (summer 2021): A general Monte Carlo method for sample size analysis in the context of network models
  • Damiano D’Urso (winter 2020): Scale Length Does Matter: Recommendations for Measurement Invariance Testing with Categorical Factor Analysis and Item Response Theory 
  • Felix Clouth (winter 2019): Quality of life profiles of colon cancer survivors: A three-step latent class analysis
  • Sanne Willems (summer 2019): Variability in the interpretation of Dutch probability phrases – a risk for miscommunication
  • Esther Maassen (winter 2018): Reproducibility of (meta-analytic) effect sizes
  • Olmo van den Akker (summer 2018): What heuristics do researchers use when assessing the outcomes of multiple studies?
  • Leonie Vogelsmeier (winter 2017): Latent Markov Factor Analysis for Exploring Measurement Model Changes in Time-Intensive Longitudinal Studies
  • Tessa Blanken (summer 2017): From heterogeneous insomnia to (more) homogeneous subtypes-results of a latent class cluster analysis
  • Nikky van Buuren (winter 2016): Bayesian Networks and Personalized Learning Recommendations
  • Kimberley Lek (summer 2016): How to Construct Individualised Confidence Intervals
  • Sanne Willems (winter 2015): Optimal scaling in survival analysis
  • Jed Cabrieto (summer 2015): Comparing the performance of non-parametric change point detection methods for capturing response concordance
  • Merijn Mestdagh (winter 2014): ‘The impact of bounded measurements on the relation between the mean and the standard deviation

IOPS Best Presentation Award

The oral presentations by PhD students who are in the last stage of their project, are the main component of the IOPS Conferences. To reward the high quality of these presentations, the IOPS board established the Best Presentation Award in 2016. The jury consists of PhD students and staff.

  • Kenny Yu (summer 2023): Multiple pathways to widespread fears: Disentangling idiosyncratic fear generalization mechanisms using computational modeling
  • Jeroen Mulder (winter 2022): The random intercept cross-lagged panel model
  • Esther Maassen (summer 2022): Widespread Disregard of Measurement Invariance in Comparing Psychological Scales across Groups, Conditions, and Time Points
  • Merle Pittelkow (winter 2021): Comparing the Evidential Strength for Psychotropic Drugs: A Bayesian Meta-Analysis
  • Angelika Stefan (summer 2021): Bayes Factor Forecasts for Continuous Research Design Evaluation
  • Leonie Vogelsmeijer (winter 2020): Latent Markov Factor Analysis: A mixture modeling approach for evaluating within- and between-person measurement model differences in intensive longitudinal data
  • Adela Isvoranu (winter 2019): Network Models of Psychosis
  • Martin Schnuerch (summer 2019): Sequential Hypothesis Tests for Multinomial Processing Tree Models
  • Sara van Erp (winter 2018): Shrinkage priors for Bayesian measurement invariance:
    Practical and robust approaches for modeling and detecting non-invariance
  • Johnny van Doorn (summer 2018): Bayesian rank-based inference through data augmentation
  • Merijn Mestdagh (winter 2017): Prepaid parameter estimation without likelihoods
  • Paulette Flore (summer 2017): The psychometrics of stereotype threat
  • Jonas Haslbeck (winter 2016): Estimating Time-Varying Mixed Graphical Models
  • Dries Debeer (summer 2016): Item-position Effects and Missing Responses in Large-Scale Assessments: Models and Applications